A Wonderful Series for Every The Melendy Quartet by Elizabeth Enright

A Wonderful Series for Every Child to Read

Note: Affiliate links may be used in this post. I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you make a purchase through my affiliate link. Read my full disclosure policy here.

A Wonderful Series for Every Child to Read

The Melendy Quartet by Elizabeth Enright will steal your heart, if it hasn’t already! It is one of those classic and timeless children’s book series. It doesn’t matter how many times you read and re-read it, it is still magical. Let me introduce you to these four wonderful books.

The very first book in the Melendy Quartet isThe SaturdaysThe story is about a family living in New York in the 1940’s. There is the oldest Melendy, thirteen-year-old Mona who strives to be an actress, twelve-year-old Rush, a boy obsessed with playing the piano, ten-year-old Randy is a dancer, and the youngest Melendy child, Oliver who is only six-years-old.

Money is tight, but the Melendy children are tired of spending Saturdays lazing about with nothing to do.

This is when they create the Independent Saturday Afternoon Adventure Club, otherwise known as the I.S.A.A.C. They pool their allowance together in order to let one kid spend it all on one Saturday. The next Saturday it is the next child’s turn to spend the money, and so on. 

In this second wonderful adventure, The Four Story Mistake,the Melendys are leaving the city, and moving to the country into a funny old house called the Four-Story Mistake. The Melendy children are very sad about leaving their old house, the only home they had known, but it does not take them long to adjust to country life. Their new property is massive, they have a brook, and eventually a menagerie of animals. What’t not love?

With Father in Washington and Cuffy, their housekeeper, away visiting a sick cousin, almost anything might happen to the Melendy kids left behind at the Four-Story Mistake. In the Melendy family, adventures are inevitable: Mr. Titus and the catfish; the villainy of the DeLacey brothers; Rush’s composition of Opus 3; Mona’s first rhubarb pie and all the canning; Randy’s arrowhead; the auction and fair for the Red Cross. 

But best of all is the friendship with Mark Herron, which begins with a scrap-collection mission and comes to a grand climax on Oliver’s birthday.

Randy and Oliver Melendy awake one fall morning full of gloom. Their brother and sister are away, the house seems forlorn and empty, and even Cuffy, their adored housekeeper, can’t pick up their spirits. Will they have to face a long and lonely winter? But a surprise message in the mailbox starts a trail of excitement and adventure that takes them through the cold season. When summer finally comes around again, the children have found fourteen messages in all, and the end of the search brings them a rich reward.

Why I love these books so much

I think the reason I love these books so much is the fact that I could really relate to all of the characters. The story felt believable. I could just imagine getting into some of the same scrapes as the Melendys, with my siblings a few years ago. I think many people could relate to this timeless family and their adventures, and misadventures alike!

I hope you and your children will open your hearts to this 1940’s  family like I did. You won’t regret it. These books really are classics, and I hope you will enjoy them as much as I do.

A Wonderful Series for Every Child to Read 2
Maria Signature


  • Leslie Zettel

    I am a professed book hoarder and my oldest daughter reads everything in site, multiple times over. We are always looking for a new series to dive into. I think we will try audiobook as well. Thank you. We recently finished the Green Ember series on audio book but I think that we did not listen to it in the right order, and I was surprised that even though it was highly recommended by various sources I did find it rather violent at times. Would you consider doing a review of the series complete with the right order, the plot line, the appropriate age group, the balance between good versus evil and how Heather and Picket fare out in the end? P.S. I really enjoy your writing. I can tell that you have a read A LOT of books. Although it is often left to personal preference, you may not need quite so many commas as think. I really look forward to your next post. Thank you!

    • Maria von Hatten

      Hello Leslie,
      Thanks for your comment. I appreciate the feedback and will certainly consider using less commas (my older brother read my posts and said the same thing.)
      I would love to do a review of the Green Ember series. I was thinking about doing it anyway, so this is perfect!
      I hope to have it posted soon, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *